Ayurvedic Yoga Massage

Yoga and it's purpose from the Yoga Sutra's

Classical Yoga is based on Sage Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. This entire book consisting of 196 sutras can fit into one single page. Each sutra however is loaded with meaning. This scientific study of the human mind still holds true 2500 years after it was written.

Ch 1 Sutra 1: Atha Yoga Anushasanam

Atha: Auspicious beginning. Also refers to something which has always existed, which has no beginning and no end.

Anu: To follow

Shasan: A discipline, systematic science, code of conduct 

This is our auspicious beginning to the discipline of yoga.

Ch 1 Sutra 2: Yogas Citta Vritti Nirodha

Citta: The entire mind personality complex which consists of mind, I sense, jnana indriyas (5 senses and their organs), 5 senses of action (hands, feet, mouth, excretion and reproduction) and prana or life force energy/ bio-energy.

Vritti: comes from a word meaning Circular. Vriiti refers to the continuous waves, fluctuations, modifications of the citta.

Rodha: to stop

Ni: skillfully or in a special way

Yoga is defined as skillfully stopping the fluctuations of the mind personality complex. Yoga practices allow us to have control over the mind, body, breath and emotions.

If we can gain control over the mind, we will be established as a witness to our true self / soul / pure consciousness.  If not, we get identified with these modifications and become slaves to the mind and body which are meant to be used by us.

Humans are mostly motivated by pleasure, we work, eat, mate, reproduce all in the pursuit of pleasure. Yoga practices create pleasurable vrittis, positive states of mind, relaxation and lightness in the body and mind. They help to purify us physically, mentally and emotionally.

   Site designed by Dinaz Irani (Nee: Darukhanawala)